opensubscriber
   Find in this group all groups
 
Unknown more information…

f : flightgear-users@lists.sourceforge.net 27 March 2012 • 10:29AM -0400

Re: [Flightgear-users] apparent Flightgear list-exploit
by Robert Black

REPLY TO AUTHOR
 
REPLY TO GROUP




I think I saw it but deleted it.  I use gmail imap so maybe it was caught for some people. It's not often we get any excitement on the users list and I just got caught up in the moment. For a good look at malicious links culled from spam go to  http://www.phishtank.com/ . I used to rate them when I had more time and supposed experienced users sometimes have trouble figuring out a malicious link.
This would be a good time to plug opendns which warns you about visiting known phishing links.
Rob

On Mon, Mar 26, 2012 at 07:55:30PM +1100, George Patterson wrote:
> On 26 March 2012 12:25, Robert Black <simstick@gmai...> wrote:
> > I'm more inclined to go with the other guy Ron. Take your hard disk and mail it registered, to a proffesional high security crusher, and put the computer in a sealed plastic bag to have it incinerated. My god man, we are talking about having all our personal information compromised here. Don't be so casual about it.
> >
>
> Huh.. All our personal information?? Don't be so dramatic as it is is
> just as dangerous. Yelling out Fire! in a crowded room....
>
> I don't think that I have seen the email. So it may not have even been
> sent via sourceforge nor flightgear but just spoofed the subject line
> with a from address that was acceptable to some server.
>
> Information required from Ted Clayton, to determine the case:
>
> * Subject line
> * Full headers
>
> > An exception might be if your running Linux with Firefox and noscript then you might be able to breathe a little easier.
> >
>
> If it was sent via the mailing list, I should have received it. Unless
> Google Gmail silently drops emails which contain viruses. Repeat after
> me, Quarantine, do not Delete.
>
> Gawd, I wish I could invoice for each of these issues.. comes up too
> often and generally mishandled by people, both hobbyists and
> commercially.
>
> Regards
>
>
> George
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> This SF email is sponsosred by:
> Try Windows Azure free for 90 days Click Here
> http://p.sf.net/sfu/sfd2d-msazure
> _______________________________________________
> Flightgear-users mailing list
> Flightgear-users@list...
> https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/flightgear-users

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This SF email is sponsosred by:
Try Windows Azure free for 90 days Click Here
http://p.sf.net/sfu/sfd2d-msazure
_______________________________________________
Flightgear-users mailing list
Flightgear-users@list...
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/flightgear-users

Bookmark with:

Delicious   Digg   reddit   Facebook   StumbleUpon

Related Messages

opensubscriber is not affiliated with the authors of this message nor responsible for its content.